1 Timothy 6:17-19(NIV)

17 Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.  18 Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.  19 In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.   

Luke 21:3-4 (NIV)

3 “I tell you the truth,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. 4 All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.”   

DEVOTION -Joshua Stueve (Texas)

My pastor’s nine-year-old son is passionate about baseball and loves to play catch.  When he found out that I was a baseball player, he would ask me to play with him every time we saw each other.  So, we made a deal to play catch every Wednesday night in the church playground.  One Wednesday night, as we walked down the alley to the playground, I noticed that he was paying close attention to the ground while we walked.  When I asked him what he was doing the boy said, “I’m looking for change on the ground so I can put it in the offering.”

The Bible is full of stories and parables about money.  A story that has influenced me in Luke’s account about the widow’s offering.  So when this small boy searched for dropped and forgotten change in the back alley behind our church playground, I couldn’t help but remember this poor widow.  I feel the stress of money every day, but this widow and small boy show me how to give all I have freely and generously.  When we give of our money, we can trust that God will take care of us the way he takes of the lilies and the sparrows.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Freely you have received; freely give (Matt. 10:8).

PRAYER: Thank you, dear God, for blessing us so that we may bless others.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WHO STRESS OVER FINANCES

