Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”   

Matthew 11:28 (NIV)

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.   

DEVOTION – Susie Hoffmann (Ohio)

Like many in my generation, I am taking care of elderly parents.  I have sole responsibility for my mom since my brother lives out of town.  I work hard to make sure she is taken care of and that all her needs are met.  The situation is more difficult because my mom and I have never had a great relationship, but I know that taking care of her is the right thing to do.  I want to honor her by doing the best I can; but most of the time, I am overwhelmed.  I have the rest of my family to take care of.  I also have some issues with my health and self-esteem.  I look at all that I need to accomplish, and I don’t know where to start.  Do I work at home?  Do I go to my mom’s house and get it ready to sell?  Do I spend time with God and rest, knowing that God guides me to do what is right for me?  When I am tired and need to rest, I fall back on Matthew 11:28.

I am thankful that God is always waiting to comfort me and reassure me that I am doing well.  The world may be saying, “Why aren’t you doing well.  The world may be saying, “Why aren’t you doing more?”  but God lets me know that all I need to do is my best.  I rest in the comfort of God’s love when taking care of Mom gets to be too much.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Rest is just a prayer away.

PRAYER: Thank you, Lord, for being with us and for giving comfort and rest to the weary.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS:THOSE CARING FOR ELDERLY PARENTS

