Psalm 131:1-3 (NIV)

1 My heart is not proud, O LORD, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me.  2 But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. 3 O Israel, put your hope in the LORD both now and forevermore.   

Psalm 132:13-14 (NIV)

13 For the LORD has chosen Zion, he has desired it for his dwelling:  14 “This is my resting place for ever and ever; here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it–   

DEVOTION -Lydia Carey (Jerusalem, Israel)

Recently, I visited a friend who lives in an apartment behind a busy open market.  The area is chaotic and noisy during the day, and the entrance to her home and stairwell is scruffy and dingy.  However, once inside her apartment, I found it to be a lovely haven of rest,  She has worked hard to create this sanctuary where she can pray and be at peace.

Her home environment reminds me of the contrast between the darkness, chaos and uncleanness of the world all around us and God’s desire for us to be constantly at rest in the inner sanctuary of our hearts.

We too may have to work hard to replace the restless churning activity within our lives with God’s presence.  But we can do this by spending time reading the Bible and listening to God’s instructions.  If we can persevere, we shall reap a reward and gradually come to know a stillness within that is not easily disturbed by the noise and chaos around us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: My spirit can be at peace even in the most unlikely places.

PRAYER: O Lord, thank you for giving us your Holy Spirit, who dwells within us.  Teach us to rest in your love.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WHO LIVE IN CHAOTIC ENVIRONMENTS

