Psalm 71:14-18 (CEB)

14 But me? I will hope. Always. I will add to all your praise. 15 My mouth will repeat your righteous acts and your saving deeds all day long. I don’t even know how many of those there are! 16 I will dwell on your mighty acts, my Lord. LORD, I will help others remember nothing but your righteous deeds. 17 You’ve taught me since my youth, God, and I’m still proclaiming your wondrous deeds! 18 So, even in my old age with gray hair, don’t abandon me, God! Not until I tell generations about your mighty arm, tell all who are yet to come about your strength,   

Proverbs 16:31 (CEB)

31 Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is found on the path of righteousness.   

DEVOTION – Peter A. Moore (South Carolina)

Reaching retirement was a milestone that promised long-awaited rewards.  I looked forward to traveling, indulging in long-delayed hobbies, and enjoying the benefits on my retirement income.  It soon became apparent, though, that a seemingly endless parade of self-indulgent activities was a fulfilling lifestyle for me.

Something was missing, even at the end of a beautiful day of golf or sightseeing.  I had an aching sense of unfulfilled need for a deeper relationship with God and my savior.  I experienced a painful awareness that serving – the giving of ourselves – is an essential priority in the life of a Christian at any age.

This recent re-awakening drives me to seek a balance – to attend to maintaining my health, intellectual ability, and social growth, and to improve my creative skills.  More importantly, I continue to use my talents and resources to focus on local and global service.  I now find the retirement can be a ticket to becoming more – rather than less – involved in the work of our Lord.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Each season of life opens many doors for the loving Christian.

PRAYER: Dear Father, continue to show us where our love and work are most needed.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: CHRISTIAN SENIORS

