2 Corinthians 12:7-10(NIV)

7 To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:10 (NIV)

10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.   

DEVOTION – William Peoples (California)

In job interviews, I am always asked to describe my strengths.  One day while preparing for an interview I realized that the more appropriate request would be to describe my weaknesses.  As a Christian, I am stronger when I am at my weakest and lowest point because Christ strengthens me.  At these times I am more willing to submit to his will rather than on my strength or knowledge.

I have learned that I can view these low points as opportunities to identify and face my weakness so that Christ can strengthen me.  When my self-esteem is low, I may be tempted to tear down others so as to hide my own insecurities.  Instead I can remember Christ’s love, which changes my attitude so that I no longer feel insecure.  If I am feeling hatred or anger, then instead of acting on the anger, I can open my heart to Christ’s unconditional love that replaces the hatred and bitterness.  This applies to any emotion that we experience as weakness – including anxiety, fearfulness, frustration.

Paul’s teaching in this passage may seem counter-intuitive – that we are strongest when we are week – but it’s true.  We have no strength in our own might or knowledge.  But when we surrender our problems to Christ and place our trust in him, Christ will strengthen us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: With Christ I can be strongest when I am weakest.

PRAYER: Dear Lord Jesus, we place our trust in you so that you can replace our weakness with your strength.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE LOOKING FOR EMPLOYMENT

