Lamentations 3:22-26 (NRSV)

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; 23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 24 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” 25 The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul that seeks him. 26 It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.   

Lamentations 3:22 (NRSV)

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end;

DEVOTION – Mercedes Zaragoza (Mexico)

The morning my husband left me, I felt hurt and helpless.  He had been depressed for several days, and I had been praying for him for months.  I loved him; but I knew it was time to let him go and to entrust him to God.

I felt a profound sense of loneliness, to the point of feeling diminished.  I prayed, and I know our lives will work out in time, I believe in God’s promises and love, but that afternoon I felt a deep sadness.

Then I felt God assuring me:  “You are truly loved.  I am here.  This crisis will pass.”

Jesus Christ is always present in the most difficult crises and in circumstances of grave pain and anguish.  I belong to Christ even as I experience this heartbreaking situation.  I will continue to believe in him, and I rejoice that I am a beloved child of God.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s love will never let us go.

PRAYER: Dear God of love and mercy, help us to turn our troubles and grief over to you and to give you the glory, as we pray,  “Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.  Thy kingdom come.  Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth.  Give us day by day our daily bread.  And forgive us our sins; for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us.  And lead us not into temptation; but deliver us from evil” (Luke 11:2-4, KJV).  In the name of your Son, we pray.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: HUSBANDS AND WIVES WHO SEPARATE

