Mark 10:13-16 (NRSV)

13 People were bringing little children to him in order that he might touch them; and the disciples spoke sternly to them. 14 But when Jesus saw this, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the little children come to me; do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of God belongs. 15 Truly I tell you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will never enter it.” 16 And he took them up in his arms, laid his hands on them, and blessed them.

Mark 10:15 (NRSV)

15 Truly I tell you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will never enter it.”

DEVOTION – Debbie Herrington (Michigan)

When my daughter was four she came to me with a broken toy and asked me to fix it.  Often when her toys would break I would be able to snap or glue a piece back on.  However, this time she had snapped a piece in half.  I’m sorry honey; I can’t fix this,” I told her.  She responded, “Mom let’s pray to Jesus to fix it.”  How do you explain to a child who believes that Jesus can do anything that the toy will still be broken?  Yet, when I told her that we could pray but Jesus probably was not going to fix her toy, she simply responded, “Let’s pray anyway.”

At that moment I understood why Jesus told his disciples that to enter the kingdom of heaven you must become like a little child.  At the age of four, my daughter understood that God loves us and wants us to pray even if we do not think we are going to get the answer we want.

I often think I need to handle my problems on my own, that they are too small for God.  However, my daughter reminded me that nothing is too small for God.  God wants us to lay all our burdens down and trust in God’s love for us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Today I will pray with the faith of a child.

PRAYER: Dear loving God, help us remember that nothing is too small to bring to you in prayer.  Help us bring all of our burdens to you with the faith of a child.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: CHILDREN

