Psalm 119:89-94 (NRSV)

89 The Lord exists forever; your word is firmly fixed in heaven. 90 Your faithfulness endures to all generations; you have established the earth, and it stands fast. 91 By your appointment they stand today, for all things are your servants. 92 If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my misery. 93 I will never forget your precepts, for by them you have given me life. 94 I am yours; save me, for I have sought your precepts.   

Isaiah 58:2 (NRSV)

2 Yet day after day they seek me and delight to know my ways, as if they were a nation that practiced righteousness and did not forsake the ordinance of their God; they ask of me righteous judgments, they delight to draw near to God.   

DEVOTION – Jason Ponzio (Georgia)

I remember when Megan was first learning to play the piano.  She became frustrated because she couldn’t just sit sown and play a song.  She had to struggle and practice for hours.  Finally she became really good.  Now she can play many different songs.  There are times when she will play while I am cleaning the kitchen, and I love to listen!  When she continues to practice, she gets better and better every day.

Sometimes we set similarly unrealistic expectations for our faith.  We accept Christ as our Savior and think we should instantly have perfect lives.  We expect our faith should be strong enough to move mountains.  But just like playing the piano, maturing in faith takes practice.  Faith is like a muscle that needs to be worked in order to grow and stay strong.  The more we read the Bible and spend time with God in prayer, the stronger we become in our faith.  As the psalmist says, God’s word will be a sweet taste to us, like honey to our mouths. (See Ps. 119:103.)  God’s word will help us stay on the right path.  Through continuing practice, we become wise in the ways of our Lord and Savior.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Faith requires patience and practice.

PRAYER: Dear God of wisdom, give us a hunger to study your word. Grant us wisdom and help us stay on the right path throughout our lives.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: MUSIC STUDENTS

