1 Corinthians 1:18-25 (NIV)

18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.  19 For it is written: “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise; the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.”  20 Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21 For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe.  22 Jews demand miraculous signs and Greeks look for wisdom, 23 but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, 24 but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.  25 For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.   

1 Corinthians 1:18 (NIV)

18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.   

DEVOTION – Regina Reeves (Pennsylvania)

I love crosses.  I wear one on a necklace around my neck at all times.  I have many crosses in my home that I have brought back from mission trips and travels to other countries.  They remind me of where I’ve been and the people who made them.

But beyond that, I wonder, What message are we sending when we wear a cross or display one in our home?  As a Roman instrument of capital punishment, a cross was where Jesus and many others died.  But Jesus was removed from a cross and rose from death in the resurrection.  For Christians, the cross is not the end of the story.  It’s the place where heaven and earth met in one momentous event that changed the world.

During Lent, we sing lots of hymns about the cross.  And at Easter, we raise our alleluias to the empty cross that reminds us that Jesus is not dead but rose again.  The message of the cross is as simple and as complex as that:  Because Jesus lives even now, we have the hope of eternal life in heaven.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When I look at a cross, what do I see?

PRAYER: Almighty God, our Rock and our Redeemer, we give you thanks for the mystery of the cross.  Because Christ is risen, we look forward to eternal life with you.  Alleluia!  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: TRAVELERS

