Matthew 17:14-21 (NIV)

14 When they came to the crowd, a man approached Jesus and knelt before him. 15 “Lord, have mercy on my son,” he said. “He has seizures and is suffering greatly. He often falls into the fire or into the water. 16 I brought him to your disciples, but they could not heal him.” 17 “O unbelieving and perverse generation,” Jesus replied, “how long shall I stay with you? How long shall I put up with you? Bring the boy here to me.” 18 Jesus rebuked the demon, and it came out of the boy, and he was healed from that moment. 19 Then the disciples came to Jesus in private and asked, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?” 20 He replied, “Because you have so little faith. I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.

Matthew 17:20-21 (NIV)

20 He replied, “Because you have so little faith. I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.

DEVOTION – Tracey Maxey (Texas)

After a discussion with friends, I realized my application of this verse from Matthew 17 was different than most.  The disciples could not understand why they were unable to heal a young boy.  Jesus explained that their faith was weak.  With true faith we can do anything, Jesus said-even move mountains.

Reading this scripture, many people envision a majestic mountain picking up her skirts of rock and trees and stepping left or right – making a path for their purpose.  But in my vision, I am pushing a wheelbarrow and carrying a shovel.  I’m moving my mountain one rock at a time.

Even with strong faith, we rely on God’s timing for the mountain to move.  Just as we believe  in answers to our Prayers, patience and petition (wheelbarrows and shovels) help create the miracles we seek.. If it is God’s will, we can call on our faith in God’s power to move our mountains, rock by rock.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: With God’s help I can move mountains – one rock at a time.

PRAYER: Dear God, may our faith be strong enough to move mountains.  Sustain us as we move them according to your plan.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE CARRYING A HEAVY BURDEN.

