Psalm 34:1-10 (NRSV)

1 I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth. 2 My soul makes its boast in the Lord; let the humble hear and be glad. 3 O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together. 4 I sought the Lord, and he answered me, and delivered me from all my fears. 5 Look to him, and be radiant; so your  faces shall never be ashamed. 6 This poor soul cried, and was heard by the Lord, and was saved from every trouble. 7 The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them. 8 O taste and see that the Lord is good; happy are those who take refuge in him. 9 O fear the Lord, you his holy ones, for those who fear him have no want. 10 The young lions suffer want and hunger, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

Psalm 34:8 (NRSV)

8 O taste and see that the Lord is good; happy are those who take refuge in him.

DEVOTION – Connie L. Cousins (Pennsylvania)

As a little girl, I often saw my father take a piece of pie and place it by his plate before we had eaten our meal.  He sometimes took a bite out of it too!  He would get just the response he wanted from me as I questioned,  “Why are you having pie? You have to eat your dinner first.”  His answer was always, “Eat dessert first.  Then you know you have room for it.”

When I was young, there was a problem fitting a little dessert into my stomach, no matter how much I had eaten.  As I have grown older, however, sometimes I must pass up dessert because I have already filled myself with other food.

Isn’t that what we do with our Lord at times?  We read the news, do our jobs, take care of our families, and suddenly the day is over.  We have not saved room for the most delicious part – time spent in quiet prayer or reading the Bible.  Knowing God is the best of life on earth and our means to life eternal, so why not enjoy God first?  God’s sweetness fills our hungry souls.  We enjoy dessert for a moment, but soon the empty felling returns.  But God’s love and peace are a constant never-ending source of nourishment.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Life is short.  Enjoy God first.

LINK2LIFE: Go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog to see pictures of Connie and her dad.

PRAYER: Dear Father, help us to remember that you are the only way to satisfy the gnawing hunger in our lives.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: BAKERS

