Romans 12:6-8 (NIV)

6 We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. 7 If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; 8 if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

1 Peter 4:10 (NIV)

10 Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

DEVOTION:Joy E. Miller (Virginia)

I left my Bible study group feeling very small.  During our discussion , my peers had talked about their marriages and careers and how well things were going.  I thought about being single and still looking for a stable career and became discouraged.  “Will I ever have what my friends have”  I asked God.  I heard no answer.  Days later I mentioned to my counselor how bad I feel when I compare myself to others.  She told me that to compare is to despair.  I latched on to that truth and started thinking about how I could replace this destructive pattern of comparisons with a deeper trust that God has a plan for me and my life.

As children of God, we can abandon comparison and hold on to the truth that each of us has been blessed with individual talents and divine opportunities that God has given us.  When we compare ourselves to others, we can become disheartened and feel as if we are missing out on good things or that we are failing to measure up to others successes.  But if we focus on Jesus’ teachings, we will be amazed at the part God has created for us to play.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s gifts and purposes for me are good.

PRAYER: Dear God, thank you for giving us parts to play in your service.  Open our eyes to opportunities each day to be a blessing for others.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE STRUGGLING WITH INSECURITY

