Psalm 46:1-11 (NRSV)

1 God is our refuge and strength, a very present  help in trouble. 2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change, though the mountains shake in the heart of the sea; 3 though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble with its tumult. (Selah) 4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy habitation of the Most High. 5 God is in the midst of the city;  it shall not be moved; God will help it when the morning dawns. 6 The nations are in an uproar, the kingdoms totter; he utters his voice, the earth melts. 7 The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge.  (Selah) 8 Come, behold the works of the Lord; see what desolations he has brought on the earth. 9 He makes wars cease to the end of the earth; he breaks the bow, and shatters the spear; he burns the shields with fire. 10 “Be still, and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations, I am exalted in the earth.” 11 The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge.  (Selah)

Psalm 46:10 (NRSV)

10 “Be still, and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations, I am exalted in the earth.”

DEVOTION – Abelardo Flores Zertuche (Nuevo Leon, Mexico)

When my wife was in the intensive care unit, everyone told me to have faith that she would get well.  But I had my doubts.  My father recently died, even though I had placed my faith in God, trusting that my father would survive.

If my wife were to die, it would be a profound loss for me and my family.  In addition, our medical insurance was drying up.  The ensuing weeks saw my wife on the verge of death.  In my desperation, I found the verse from Psalm 46 above.  Even if I could not have faith in the outcome, I found I could have confidence that whatever  happened, God would be in the midst of it all.

The long-term effects of my wife’s hospital stay made her recuperation slow, and my emotional health had been wounded by the crisis.  Even so, not once did I feel abandoned by God.  God was there through the support of our church; God was there to provide our family nourishment; God was there to assist in our financial needs.  Today I feel at peace.  Psalm 46 showed me how to be still and to trust God to heal the wounds of body and spirit and to restore life and faith.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When troubles come, be still and wait for God.

LINK2LIFE:  Go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog to see a photo of Albelardo and his wife.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, thank you for being our guide – leading us through stormy and dark paths to a place of quiet solitude and the peace that passes all understanding (Phil 4:7).  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: FAMILY MEMBERS IN THE HOSPITAL.

