John 14:1-6 (CEB)

1 “Don’t be troubled. Trust in God. Trust also in me. 2 My Father’s house has room to spare. If that weren’t the case, would I have told you that I’m going to prepare a place for you? 3 When I go to prepare a place for you, I will return and take you to be with me so that where I am you will be too. 4 You know the way to the place I’m going.” 5 Thomas asked, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going. How can we know the way?” 6 Jesus answered, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

John 14:6 (CEB)

6 Jesus answered, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

DEVOTION Sheila Hester (North Carolina)

I am directionally challenged.  When I embark on any trip I frequently get lost and require detailed directions.  I rely heavily on a computer to help me get where I want to go.  In these wonderful verses from John’s Gospel, Jesus is telling his disciple of his final destination.  It is an amazing place with room for all.  When Thomas wants directions and a map, our Lord firmly states that the only route to our heavenly destination is through him.  “I am the way, the truth and the life.”

The first six verses from John were my dear grandfather’s favorites.  As a retired pastor, he quoted many, many scriptures but non with the passion and fire with which he recited these verses from John.  Although he often read them on sad occasions – at the deathbed of his brother and at the funerals of many loved ones – Papa saw them as joyful words.

When we give ourselves to Jesus Christ, he gives us directions to that special place.  We even have a guide – God’s word.  We have no further need for a map or a computer.  What a wonderful feeling to know that we are never traveling alone and that our Savior has prepared the way!

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Where is the Lord directing me today?

PRAYER: Our gracious Guide, continue to lead us and direct us in your service.  We give you thanks for preparing the way for us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: GRANDFATHERS

