John 6:48-58 (NRSV)

48 I am the bread of life. 49 Your ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died. 50 This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die. 51 I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.” 52 The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” 53 So Jesus said to them, “Very truly, I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. 54 Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood have eternal life, and I will raise them up on the last day; 55 for my flesh is true food and my blood is true drink. 56 Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood abide in me, and I in them. 57 Just as the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever eats me will live because of me. 58 This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like that which your ancestors ate, and they died. But the one who eats this bread will live forever.”

John 6:48, 58 (NRSV)

48 I am the bread of life.  58 This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like that which your ancestors ate, and they died. But the one who eats this bread will live forever.”

DEVOTION – Sandra Luz Contreras (Nuevo Leon, Mexico)

Recently I took in my car for some repairs.  Because I didn’t know how long the work would take, I had brought along a copy of El Aposento Alto (the Spanish edition of The Upper Room) to read as I sat in the waiting room.  Midway through my reading, I sensed a feeling from the Holy Spirit directing me to give my devotional guide to the receptionist.

I felt a bit disappointed.  It was a brand new issue, and I wanted to finish reading the magazine.  I finally decided to walk over to the reception desk.  As I approached, I noticed a very old issue of El Aposento Alto on the desk, the oldest I had ever seen.  Its pages were yellow and torn, and the receptionist was thumbing through them as she had probably done many times before.

I eas moved by what I saw and understood why the Spirit had urged me to give my new copy to the receptionist.  I said to her, “Here is a copy of El Aposento Alto for you.”  Her eyes opened wide when she saw the magazine, and she said, “El Aposento Alto!  And it’s brand new!”  She was extremely enthusiastic in her gratitude for my gift.  As for me, I was glad and grateful that I had obeyed God’s direction.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When God nudges us, let us be quick to respond.

LINK2LIFE:  Share The Upper Roomwith a friend.

PRAYER: Dear God, help us be attuned to your voice and willing to give all that you ask of us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WHO HUNGER TO KNOW GOD

