Luke 14:26-33 (NRSV)

26 “Whoever comes to me and does not hate father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters, yes, and even life itself, cannot be my disciple. 27 Whoever does not carry the cross and follow me cannot be my disciple. 28 For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not first sit down and estimate the cost, to see whether he has enough to complete it? 29 Otherwise, when he has laid a foundation and is not able to finish, all who see it will begin to ridicule him, 30 saying, “This fellow began to build and was not able to finish.’ 31 Or what king, going out to wage war against another king, will not sit down first and consider whether he is able with ten thousand to oppose the one who comes against him with twenty thousand? 32 If he cannot, then, while the other is still far away, he sends a delegation and asks for the terms of peace. 33 So therefore, none of you can become my disciple if you do not give up all your possessions.

Luke 9:23 (NRSV)

23 Then he said to them all, “If any want to become my followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.

DEVOTION – Tyler Myers (Ohio)

On one warm, sunny day I was out mowing our yard,  Eventually I noticed Ben, our lovable Golden Labrador, following me.  He easily could’ve gone into the garage – where it wasn’t as hot – and lapped up a drink of water to cool down, but our loyal Lab continued to follow me in the heat, panting profusely.

When I thought about Ben’s commitment to following me, the question came to mind, Am I that committed to following Christ?  When things in my life aren’t going well or when the Lord doesn’t answer one of my prayers the way I would like, am I still committed to following him?  Or am I loyal to Christ only when everything in life is going my way?  Our lovable Lab’s commitment to following me, in spite of tough circumstances, challenged me to be more devoted in my commitment to follow Christ.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Is my commitment to Christ conditional?

Link2Life: Go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog to see a picture of Tyler and Ben.

PRAYER:  Dear God, give us your grace and strength to be committed to you even when life is full of trials.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: FOR A STRONGER COMMITMENT TO CHRIST

