Philippians 1:3-11(NIV)

3 I thank my God every time I remember you. 4 In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy 5 because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, 6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. 7 It is right for me to feel this way about all of you, since I have you in my heart; for whether I am in chains or defending and confirming the gospel, all of you share in God’s grace with me. 8 God can testify how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. 9 And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, 10 so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, 11 filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ–to the glory and praise of God.

2 Timothy 1:3 (NIV)

3 I thank God, whom I serve, as my forefathers did, with a clear conscience, as night and day I constantly remember you in my prayers.

DEVOTION – Sherah B. Carr (Georgia)

For some reason I have been waking up ion the middle of the night, staring at the ceiling, and wondering why I am awake.  I’m tired.  I have to get up early.  What am I to do?

A few nights ago, I  remembered a friend’s suggestion about ABC prayers.  I began with the letter A and thought of people whose name begins with A.  The I prayed specifically for their needs and asked God to touch their lives.  Then I moved on to B.  I remember reaching the letter M, but the rest is a blur.  I was snoozing peacefully again.

This exercise reminds me of the joy and peace we find in praying for others.  In our small Sunday school class, we post weekly prayer requests.  We have been amazed to see the power of our prayers at work.  Talking with God, submitting our sincere requests for God’s help and guidance for our friends and family, leads to amazing results or even, as in my case, it can lead to a calming and peaceful sleep.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: We receive unexpected blessings when we meet God in prayer.

PRAYER:  Dear God, thank you for hearing our prayers at all times of the day or night.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE SUFFERING INSOMNIA

