Matthew 9:20-22 (NRSV)

20 Then suddenly a woman who had been suffering from hemorrhages for twelve years came up behind him and touched the fringe of his cloak, 21 for she said to herself, “If I only touch his cloak, I will be made well.” 22 Jesus turned, and seeing her he said, “Take heart, daughter; your faith has made you well.” And instantly the woman was made well.

Matthew 9:22 (NRSV)

22 Jesus turned, and seeing her he said, “Take heart, daughter; your faith has made you well.” And instantly the woman was made well.

DEVOTION – Charles F. van Rossum (Nebraska)

My life changed when a doctor told me that I needed a mechanical device to assist my failing heart.  The next day, I was transported by ambulance to the Mayo Clinic for an evaluation.

Before I left the local hospital, the chaplain held a prayer-shawl blessing.  This was not the first prayer shawl I had received.  I had been blessed with a quilt and three other shawls.  One of the quilts consisted of threads knotted as the person who made It prayed.

In Matthew 9:20-22, a woman who had been ill for years broke through the crowd and touched Jesus’ cloak.  After confronting the woman and praising her faith, Jesus healed her.

In a way, a prayer shawl is like the cloak of Christ.  As a recipient, I felt a connection through Christ with the individuals who had made it, prayed over it, and given it to me.  Clutching one of the prayer shawls as I rode in the ambulance, I felt a quiet peace that assured me of God’s love and presence.

Wearing the shawls did not prevent me from having the heart pump implanted, but the shawls and quilt did calm some of my fears.  I felt that I was covered and surrounded by God’s love.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: How can I help others feel cloaked in God’s love.

LINK2LIFE: Go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog to see a photo of Charles with his prayer shawl.

PRAYER: Thank you, God, for those who help us to feel cloaked in your love.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PRAYER-SHAWL MINISTRIES

