Isaiah 40:28-31 (NRSV)

28 Have you not known? Have you not heard?  The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.  He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. 29 He gives power to the faint, and strengthens the powerless. 30 Even youths will faint and be weary, and the young will fall exhausted; 31 but those who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles,  they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.

Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

10 So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

DEVOTION – Jada Pryor (Illinois)

The first steps of my one-year-old daughter, Jubilee, brought me overwhelming happiness.  I spread my arms wide to receive her, and she joyfully bounded into my embrace.  Becoming  sure of her new footing took time, and she often stumbled.  Every fall made me cringe, but I helped her to her feet and encouraged her to take a few more steps.  As her parent, I knew the freedom that walking would give her.

My journey with Christ is similar.  When I first began to walk with him, I was thrilled by my new discovery.  With the feelings of lightness in my heart and the excitement of moving toward Jesus, I could hardly keep from running.  Upon being saved, I thought that my life would be easy, that I could move about freely as a follower of Christ and never stumble or fall again.  That is not what God promises.  God knows that we grow tired and slip in our faith, but God also assures us.  If we continue to move toward the Lord, God will reach out a hand to steady us and will guide us back to the path laid out before us.  God, like a good parent knows the freedom that lies ahead.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Every step toward God is a step in the right direction.

LINK2LIFE: To see a picture of Jada and Jubilee, go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog.

PRAYER: Dear Father, please help us remember that we will fall down as we learn to walk and that you rejoice when we get right back on our feet and move again toward you.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: CHILDREN LEARNING TO WALK

