Revelation 21:1-5 (NRSV)

1 Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. 2 And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying,  “See, the home  of God is among mortals.  He will dwell  with them;  they will be his peoples,   and God himself will be with them;  4 he will wipe every tear from their eyes.  Death will be no more;  mourning and crying and pain will be no more,  for the first things have passed away.” 5 And the one who was seated on the throne said, “See, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

Psalm 27:10 (CEB)

10 Even if my father and mother left me all alone, the LORD would take me in.

DEVOTION – Georgina Mattute Henze (federal District, Mexico)

When my mother was diagnosed with stage-four breast cancer, she was given only weeks to live.  The news was devastating.  Suddenly, I felt alone, sad, and totally disconnected.  I had no idea what would be enormous.  At that moment, I remembered Psalm 27:10.  I was comforted to remember that God is always with me.

During the 18 months my mother endured her illness, God sustained me with the psalm quoted above.  I was able to interact fully with her.  When my mother breathed her last, I simply asked God to stand by me.  God gave me the strength and wisdom to carry on.  As always to carry on.  As always, God was faithful, remained close, and never let me falter.

Now, months after my mother’s death, I continue to feel the pain of her absence.  However, I am grateful to God that my mother’s suffering has turned to joy and her pain has ceased.  I am at peace , secure in the knowledge that both my mother and I rest in God’s loving arms.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God can turn our sorrow into joy.

PRAYER: Loving God, when we experience loss, help us to remember that you remain with us to console and sustain us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: CANCER PATIENTS AND THEIR FAMILIES

 

