John 14:15-23 (NRSV)

15 “If you love me, you will keep  my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate,  to be with you forever. 17 This is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, because he abides with you, and he will be in  you. 18 “I will not leave you orphaned; I am coming to you. 19 In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me; because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. 21 They who have my commandments and keep them are those who love me; and those who love me will be loved by my Father, and I will love them and reveal myself to them.” 22 Judas (not Iscariot) said to him, “Lord, how is it that you will reveal yourself to us, and not to the world?” 23 Jesus answered him, “Those who love me will keep my word, and my Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.

John 14:23 (NRSV)

23 Jesus answered him, “Those who love me will keep my word, and my Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.

DEVOTION – Charlene T. Eubank (Tennessee)

As I put on my favorite necklace, I realized one of the links was missing.  I had not known it was broken when I placed it in the drawer, but now the necklace was useless to me until the links were joined again.

A week earlier I had seen a small silver link on the carpet.  Not knowing where it came from, I had picked it up and placed it on the side of the sink.  Mow I could repair the necklace.

Like the broken necklace, we can become broken in our spiritual life.  This brokenness can happen when any one of life’s devastating losses comes our way – illness, death of a loved one, job loss, divorce.  Feeling disconnected from God can happen when we have an argument with a family member or a friend, or when we have an unpleasant encounter with a co-worker or even a stranger at the store.

Our brokenness can be repaired through prayer, personal devotional time, and meditation.  We can reconnect with God through Bible study, Sunday school, and community worship.  God always provides a link for us if we will take advantage of it.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: We never have to live apart from God.

PRAYER: Help us, O God, to stay linked to you.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE WHO FEEL DISCONNECTED FROM GOD

