Philippians 4:9-13

Keep on doing the things that you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and the God of peace will be       with you.

Acknowledgment of the Philippians’ Gift

10 I rejoice in the Lord greatly that now at last you have revived your concern for me; indeed, you were concerned for me, but had no opportunity to show it. 11 Not that I am referring to being in need; for I have learned to be content with whatever I have. 12 I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well-fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Psalm 139:14(NRSV)

14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
that I know very well.

DEVOTION – Galina Samson (Voronezh, Russia)

When I was a young child, a polio epidemic started in our country.  I became ill and lost my ability to walk.  Because I was young, I paid little attention to the fact that I was not like everyone else.  Bur in my youth it became a problem.  I sometimes thought that life was very unfair;  nearly everyone else was healthy, but I was unlucky,  I was miserable, of course.  But as I continued in my studies, my health improved some.  In time, I gave birth to and reared a daughter.  It was difficult – both physically and emotionally.

I lived like that for a long time – without faith and angry about my situation.  But when I came to the Lord, everything changed.  My physical problems did not go away, but peace entered my soul.  This was not resignation; it was awareness that God had prepared something good for me.

I am happy.  I realize that whatever body a person inhabits, those who abide in Christ will have the strength and mind of God.  Now when I face adversity, I remember the Bible verse, “Cast all your anxiety on [God], because he cares for you” (1 Pet. 5:7), and I move forward.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY:  Leaning on Christ makes us strong.

PRAYER: Thank you, Lord, for our bodies that serve us well and the strength you give us each day. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

