2 Corinthians 1:3 – 4 (NIV)

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

Paul wrote, “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

DEVOTION – Cathy Fooshee (Kansas)

We have a new puppy, a Labrador retriever named Holly.  We spend a lot of time swinging in the hammock while Holly explores the back yard in the comfort of our presence.  If playing on the deck, she often will move close to our legs and eventually sit on someone’s foot as she chews on her bone.  If we move while she is our on the lawn playing, she stops immediately and checks for our new location.  Our presence gives her the confidence to explore.

Holly’s behavior reminds me of my relationship to God.  I explore life – sometimes without any thought of God’s presence.  But often, especially when life throws a challenge my way, I need the comfort of God’s touch; I need to know that God is close by and that I matter.  I need to know that God is working diligently for good in all situations in my life.

God’s touch may come through a hug from another person, through something that I read in the Bible, or through a timely devotion in The Upper Room.  Sometimes I sense God’s touch in the still, small voice that occasionally comes when I least expect it – but I sense its message with startling clarity.  In whatever form it comes, that touch gives my life warmth and color and fills me with confidence that through God’s power at work in me I can do all that God asks of me.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: How do I experience God’s touch?

Link2Life: Go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog to see a photo of Cathy and her puppy Holly).

PRAYER: Dear Lord, help us to look for the many ways you touch us with your love and care every day.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: Someone Who Needs Comforting

