Isaiah 43:1-4 (NIV)

But now, this is what the LORD says– he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.  2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  3 For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I give Egypt for your ransom, Cush and Seba in your stead.  4 Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you, and people in exchange for your life.

Isaiah 43:2 (NRSV)

The Lord says, “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.”

DEVOTION – Luis Alberto Jones (Chubut, Argentina)

I was driving to one of our firm’s subsidiaries.  It is quite a distance away, but traffic was light.  While crossing a bridge, I noticed a significant difference between the landscape behind me and the one I was approaching.  The vegetation ahead was richer than that behind me and featured a riot of colors in hues of green and yellow.

Until this point in the trip, I had been churning inside as I thought about my work performance.  My company expected better results; and as much as I tried, my efforts did not math their expectations.  Now, as I crossed the bridge, I remembered that God always accompanies us as we traverse trouble waters.  As I reflected more on this my spirit lifted quickly.  I felt invigorated, as if I had taken in a breath of fresh air.  I thanked God for standing by me during the difficult times and guiding me a place of peace.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God guides us through troubled waters to peace.

PRAYER: Merciful God, help us remember that you always guide us through the storms of life and on to safety.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: People Dealing with Work-Related Stress

