Psalm 104:24-33 (NIV)

How many are your works, O LORD! In wisdom you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures. 25 There is the sea, vast and spacious, teeming with creatures beyond number– living things both large and small. 26 There the ships go to and fro, and the leviathan, which you formed to frolic there. 27 These all look to you to give them their food at the proper time. 28 When you give it to them, they gather it up; when you open your hand, they are satisfied with good things. 29 When you hide your face, they are terrified; when you take away their breath, they die and return to the dust. 30 When you send your Spirit, they are created, and you renew the face of the earth. 31 May the glory of the LORD endure forever; may the LORD rejoice in his works– 32 he who looks at the earth, and it trembles, who touches the mountains, and they smoke. 33 I will sing to the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.

Genesis 1:31 (NRSV)

God saw everything that had had made, and indeed, it was very good.

DEVOTION – Judith O. Jolly (North Carolina)

A retreat was held in a setting that offered mountains, forests, and a nearby lake – perfect places to explore and enjoy God’s marvelous creation.  Before we ate our first midday meal, our retreat leader suggested that we spend our early-afternoon break wandering and relaxing in the area surrounding our cabins.  “Go marveling,” she said.  “Find something in nature to bring back with you.”

That evening, we brought the items we had found during the afternoon: feathers, leaves, oddly-shaped limbs, seedpods, wildflowers, and rocks.  We told the stories of our discoveries and celebrated God’s gifts.  The gift of marveling at the words of our Creator energized us and brought us together.

From that experience, I learned that I can go marveling most anywhere.  When I see a brilliant red, orange, and gold sunset, I marvel.  When I hear a bird singing, I marvel.  When the air smells clean and the world grows still with the first snowfall of the season, I marvel.  When fluffy clouds billow in the afternoon sky, I marvel.  Sometimes I let the busyness of the day interfere with enjoying nature’s beauty, but I try to save part of everyday to pay attention to God’s “wonderful works.”

Link2Life:  For an opportunity to go marveling away from home, see upperroom.org/academy

Link2Life: To see Judith “marveling” at the retreat center, go to devotional.upperroom.org/blog.

PRAYER: Loving God, draw our attention every day to your marvelous works and keep us mindful of our role as caretakers of all that you have created.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: To Set Aside Our Busyness

