Psalm 84:1-12 (NIV)

How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty! 2 My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.3 Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young– a place near your altar, O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising you. “Selah” 5 Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.6 As they pass through the Valley of Baca, they make it a place of springs; the autumn rains also cover it with pools.7 They go from strength to strength, till each appears before God in Zion.8 Hear my prayer, O LORD God Almighty; listen to me, O God of Jacob. “Selah” 9 Look upon our shield, O God; look with favor on your anointed one.10 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked. 11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. 12 O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.

Psalm 84:10 (NIV)

10 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

DEVOTION – Barb Raveling (Montana)

As a child I loved going to my grandma’s house.  She lived four hours away, yet she always had cinnamon rolls fresh from the oven when we arrived.   I picture myself sitting at her kitchen table, surrounded by my brothers and sister, with icing dripping down our chins.

We kids loved our grandma, but the first thing we always wanted to do after finishing our cinnamon rolls was to go see Grandma’s friend Ruth.  Ruth was funny, and we loved spending time with her.  As an adult, I sometimes think back on those visits and wonder how Grandma felt when we dashed off to see Ruth.  Was she sad?  Did she think we loved Ruth more than we loved her?  The truth is that we loved Grandma, but we thought Ruth was more fun.

Unfortunately, we sometimes feel the same way about God.  We love God; but daily concerns seem to be more fun, so we cut short our time with God.  I would like to visit with Grandma a little longer, but she is gone.  However, the Lord is still here, longing to spend time with me, just as Grandma did.  God wants to spend time with you too.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Cherish your time with God.

PRAYER:  Dear God, show us what it means to delight in your presence, and teach us how to love you. Amen

PRAYER FOCUS: Those Too Busy for God

