John 14:1-2 (NIV)

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.  2In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.

John 13:35 (NRSV)

Jesus said, “By this everyone will now that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

DEVOTION – Colin Harbach (Cumbria, England)

Recently I attended a funeral where I heard Jesus’ familiar promise that in his Father’s house are many rooms (John 14:2).  These are reassuring words, partly because for me a house involves a family – the family of God together for eternity.  I love this picture of heaven, conjuring up thoughts of reunions and reminiscences.  But something inside me says, Hold on! Together… forever?

While I know the Lord has commanded us to love one another (see John 13:34), some of the people I have met are not always easy to love.  I am sure they say the same about me.  But I still find hope in Jesus’ words.  “Many rooms” does give the impression of one family.  Families are not always in the same room and do not always get along, but they are still families.

Why wait for heaven?  Now is the time to love one another as unique creations of the same Father who loves each of us.  Now, when I meet people, I try to remember to say to myself, God loves this person- enough to want to have them home for eternity!

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God loves each of us enought to spend eternity with us.

Link2Life: Look for loveable qualities in the people you meet today.

PRAYER:  Dear Father, teach us so to love others that we appreciate their uniqueness and how much you love them. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS:  Someone I Find Difficult To Love

