Job 2:11-13 (NIV)

11 When Job’s three friends, Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite, heard about all the troubles that had come upon him, they set out from their homes and met together by agreement to go and sympathize with him and comfort him.12 When they saw him from a distance, they could hardly recognize him; they began to weep aloud, and they tore their robes and sprinkled dust on their heads.13 Then they sat on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights. No one said a word to him, because they saw how great his suffering was.

Romans 12:15 (NRSV)

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.

DEVOTION – Irina Ivanova (Pskov, Russia)

I was deeply concerned about someone who is dear to me.  The gray, cold day of constant rain made me feel even worse.  At work as I stood by the window and sobbed, one of my colleagues came up to me.  He told me that everything would be okay.  However, these words did not comfort me.  In fact, they made me feel worse.  A while later, another person came up to me.  Seeing that I was suffering, he did not say anything but simply gave me a hug and stayed with me.  This silent sympathy and empathy did far more for me than words.

He did what the Apostle Paul urges us to do: “weep with those who weep” (Rom. 12:15).  Today’s reading in which Job’s friends mourned with him reminded me that words of comfort can be important but also important is another kind of consolation – to simply be quiet together.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Which should I choose today to show God’s love and comfort: words, or ations?

Link2Life: Visit someone who is grieving.

PRAYER:  Dear Lord, thank you for the comfort you send us through our friends.   Help us to be sensitive to others’s pain and to accompany them through hardship. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: Someone Concerned Aout ALoved One

