Psalm 32:6-11 (NIV)

6 Therefore let everyone who is godly pray to you while you may be found; surely when the mighty waters rise, they will not reach him.  7 You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. “Selah”  8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you.  9 Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you.  10 Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in him. 11 Rejoice in the LORD and be glad, you righteous; sing, all you who are upright in heart

Proverbs 30:5 (NRSV)

Every word of God proves true.

DEVOTION – Shannon L. Hale (Missouri)

When I was a conscientious college student, my stomach knotted at the mention of the word test.  Despite hours of study, I worried that I’d studied the wrong facts.  I feared forgetting what I’d memorized.  Even after I checked my work and turned in the test, my elation was quickly replaced by self-doubt: Did I do as well as I think?

College tests have been replaced by tests with less clear-cut results.  As a parent, I hope that I am teaching my children the skills they need to navigate life.  Birthdays come and go, and I wonder how I will deal with the challenges of aging.  I won’t know the results of these tests for many years.

But Proverbs 30:5 reassures us that the wisdom found in God’s word survives life’s tests.  The Hebrew word in that verse translated “proves true” (NRSV) is also translated “is tested” (NASV) and “is pure” (KJV).  The image comes from the process of refining or purifying metal.  Everything God says or does is for our good.  The truth of scripture grows from and reflects God’s love, which upholds and strengthens us in any test we face.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s word is tested and proves true.

PRAYER:  Lord, thank you for wisdom that we can stake our life on. Help us always to turn to you for guidance or comfort, trusting that you will answer. Amen

PRAYER FOCUS: Anxious Students

