2 Corinthians 4:6-12 (NIV)

6 For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.  7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.  8 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair;  9 persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.  10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.  11 For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body.  12 So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

Psalm 136:1 (KJV)

O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good; for his merc endureth forever.

DEVOTION – Megan S. Feaser (Pennsylvania)

As I ride my horse along the trails that meander around the cornfields, I realize how majestic and good God is.  As my horse’s hooves sound on the trail, my thoughts are caught up in the moment and I give thanks for the blessings God has given me.  When I am alone with my horse in the countryside, I feel close to God.  I am content and at peace.  The cares and burdens of the day float away on the wind, and I am alone in God’s company.

When I enjoy these good moments in life, I ask God to help me see the good even in the worst situations.  I realize that life will not always be perfect and that I will encounter complications and trials along the way.  I desire to be faithful and to praise God even when life hits me hard.

I have experienced God’s goodness and mercy each day of my life.  Reading God’s word and praying restores my soul and helps me to keep God first in my life.  As my horse and I reach home, I again give thanks for all that God has done and ask God to strengthen my faith for the days to come.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY:  God blesses our lives with beauty and goodness.

PRAYER:  Heavenly Lord, help us to see the good in bad situations and to recognize your presence every day of our lives. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: Those Who Need to Know God’s Peace

