2 Corinthians 6:1-2 (NIV)

1 As God’s fellow workers we urge you not to receive God’s grace in vain. 2 For he says, “In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.” I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.

Acts 4:12 (NRSV)

There is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among mortals by which we must be saved.

DEVOTION – Alfred A. Jaeger (New Jersey)

January 13, 1982, was the darkest day of my life.  After 35 years of self-centered living and countless poor decisions, I found myself standing in my barn on top of a bale of hay, with a rope around my neck.  Just before I stepped into oblivion, I heard a still, small voice ask, “What about your three sons?”  In an instant, God used the thought of my children to show me that I could not turn my back on life.  I removed the rope, stepped down, and decided to change my life.  I knew, however, that I could not do it alone.

January 14, 1982, found me in a science classroom of a teaching colleague who was a Christian.  We talked, and I called on Jesus Christ to save me.  That day, I became a new creation.  In time, I attended a Walk to Emmaus spiritual-renewal program and eventually I began the process to enter professional ministry.  I retired from teaching and on July 2, 2006, I gave my first sermon in the wonderful country church where I am privileged to serve as pastor.

No matter how badly we mishandle our lives, God does not forget us.  God’s love and forgiveness are always available to give us a new start.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: One conversation can transform a life.

PRAYER:  Loving God, help us to reach out to those who need to know that they are loved and that their lives matter. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: Those Considering Suicide

