1 Corinthians 13:8-12 (NIV)

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 12 Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

1 Corinthians 13:12 (NIV)

12 Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

DEVOTION – David R. Stadden (Pennsylvania)

Recently I retired from my career of more than 30 years as a research scientist.  Using an array of microscopes from simple to complex, I spent my days searching out underlying properties of a material or process that could affect product performance.  However, I was aware that sometimes my interpretation might be imperfect.

The micro-world is composed of even smaller elements created by God, so small that even the most powerful microscope cannot reveal them.  Our earthly view, as Paul wrote, is but “a reflection as in a mirror.”  Only God is able to see the building blocks that form us and influence our human interactions.

As a problem solver, I can be as efficient as possible with my microscopes and still fail to uncover that one key finding that would illuminate the problem.  Outside of work, I face the same dilemma with inexplicable situations or behaviors.  I remind myself that only God knows the fundamental elements that make up our existence.  Our difficultly in understanding a situation often reflects the limits of our earthly perspective.  We’ll never be able to fully understand, but we can place our trust in the God who does.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: At least Someone knows what’s going on.

PRAYER:  O God, forgive us when our limited vision causes us to apply simple labels to complex maters, for only you in your wisdom fully know us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: Researchers

