Psalm 31:14-24 (NIV)

14 But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.” 15 My times are in your hands; deliver me from my enemies and from those who pursue me. 16 Let your face shine on your servant; save me in your unfailing love. 17 Let me not be put to shame, O LORD, for I have cried out to you; but let the wicked be put to shame and lie silent in the grave.18 Let their lying lips be silenced, for with pride and contempt they speak arrogantly against the righteous. 19 How great is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you, which you bestow in the sight of men on those who take refuge in you. 20 In the shelter of your presence you hide them from the intrigues of men; in your dwelling you keep them safe from accusing tongues. 21 Praise be to the LORD, for he showed his wonderful love to me when I was in a besieged city. 22 In my alarm I said, “I am cut off from your sight!” Yet you heard my cry for mercy when I called to you for help. 23 Love the LORD, all his saints! The LORD preserves the faithful, but the proud he pays back in full. 24 Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.

Isaiah 49:15-16 (NIV)

15 “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!16 See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me.

DEVOTION – Marlene Brooker (Essex, England)

My sister always seemed to be talking about her children – what they did when they got up, how they were doing in school, what little things they enjoyed.  Everything about the children thrilled my sister, and I was pleased to share in her experiences.

I began thinking about how God delights in seeing us each day.  God loves us even when we make mistakes.  The Bible says that we are engraved on the palms of God’s hands.  Just as my sister carries pictures of her daughters in her purse, shows them to her friends, and tells stories about them, our names are carried everyday on the palms of God’s hands.  God does not forget us.  God never will forget us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: My name is engraved on the palms of God’s hands.

PRAYER:  Thank you, God, that we are important to you.  Thank you for remembering us by name every day.  As Jesus taught us, we pray, “Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.  Thy kingdom come.  Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread.  And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever.  Amen.”

PRAYER FOCUS: Those Who Do Not Know God’s Love

