Romans 8:35-39 (NIV)

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  36 As it is written: “For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:38-39 (NIV)

DEVOTION – Mike Halpin (Texas)

I was not raised in a church-going home.  My real relationship with Christ began in 1972 when a few of my “Jesus-freak” college classmates gently persuaded me that Christ ought to take a central position in my life.  Still, distractions cause me to struggle with living this precept.  What sustains me is clinging to Christ through using resources like The Upper Room.  Through what I read here, I have become convinced that our “clinging” will bring us opportunities to serve and to feel the satisfaction of our relationship with Christ.

One such opportunity for me came in 1980 as I was bidding goodbye to my father, who was dying from Lou Gehrig’s disease.  I wanted to offer him God’s peace.  I read to him Romans 8:35-39.  Within one month, he was gone; but before he died, my mother wrote me a letter that brought me peace as well.  She told me that Dad had been comforted by the words from Romans that I had read to him.  He was also glad that I had come to know Christ on my own.  But it wasn’t really on my own; it was all because of awareness and desire to cling to Christ that were planted in me by the loving actions of others who cared for me.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Clinging to Christ strengthens us to share Christ’s love.

PRAYER:   Dear Father, show us how we can bring peace to others and find peace ourselves. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: Those who are terminally ill

